“Daggers to the Psyche, Truth for the Soul”

I recently stumbled upon an inspirational quote that goes something like this, “Not having enough time, isn’t the problem. We all have exactly 24 hours in a day. The problem is simply a lack of direction.”

Initially, upon reading this, I’d have sworn that I definitively disagreed; I was, in fact, rather offended and more than a little put-off. (Which now, in hindsight, I find especially interesting and relatively amusing, seeing as how the quote hadn’t been specifically directed at, nor intended for, me, personally -per se’.) And yet, since then, I’ve found myself struggling with this ‘message’; it has continued to ruthlessly pervade my conscious thoughts (and perhaps my subconscious thoughts, as well). …Until, apparently, I’ve now finally reached a point at where I’ve given the words their due recognition, consideration, speculation, and credence, and am able to admit that it just might be true, after all. *sigh*

Needless to say, I’m not altogether content with the somewhat accusational implications of this particular reflection/revelation, but… I do have to concede that it has forced me to think, challenged me to reevaluate my day-to-day routine (or lack thereof), and provided me with both- valuable insight and motivation. For this, I’m genuinely grateful.

Leave a Reply

